Tags

, , , , ,

Last evening, I was thinking about making a short holiday greeting video for Youtube, but the challenge is how to come up with holiday music that doesn’t violate copyright. That made me ask the question, what if I write my own music?

So, I started to write my own song lyrics. I turned to some of the posts I’ve written for this blog for inspiration. It wasn’t quite a holiday song that began to form. Many years ago, I helped someone write a song, but this is the first time I’m trying to write a whole song and record it myself. It’s a little too ambitious to finish it this year in time for a holiday greeting, but maybe it can become an ongoing project for 2012. A new challenge for the new year.

The lyrics and structure probably need work, but here’s the first draft of the lyrics—

Share the Light from Inside
Lyrics by Tim Coffey

When it’s dark and it’s cold and the stars are inked out
And someone with the power has turned your lights out
When you feel numb from a pain too deep
Pain thrives when it feels alone

When you’ve lost your way in the darkness
Alone, you’re tangled up in a forest
When you suffer from a pain too deep
Hope thrives when it’s not alone

Everyone has one light
One light
Share the light from inside

Call me and we’ll meet in the forest
Untangling, untangling
And when you call, we’ll dig through the darkness
Digging, digging to find your light

Everyone has one light
One light
Share the light from inside

When I’ve lost my way, and it’s cold outside
When I feel numb from a pain too deep
Hope thrives when it’s with someone

When I’ve lost my way, and it’s cold outside
When I feel numb from a pain too deep
Hope thrives when it’s with someone

Everyone has one light
One light
Share the light from inside

