Tags

, , ,

Today I was thinking of one of my earliest posts where I asked the question, “Am I flying now, or am I simply losing my feathers?”

I’ve learned in this past month that artwork is about growth. Everyone starts somewhere. it’s natural for anyone creating artwork to feel self-conscious about the quality of the work, but I see it more as a journey now. I’ve made a career out of my artwork, and there are so many rules in the professional art world that I had to learn to be successful in that way. Being a financially successful professional artist requires constant critiquing of the work. There is fierce competition, and it’s extremely difficult to succeed in that arena without self-criticism. However, this blog is not about that part of my world. This blog is about self-expression and exploration, and I feel now that I am only growing new feathers.

 

