Tags

I was at a complete loss for what to draw today. Making these drawings public has given me stage fright. I want this blog to be an exploration of who I am as an artist and a writer, and it all comes down to the same questions. What do I draw? How do I draw it? What do I write, and how do I write it? Do I draw to please myself, or do I try to figure out what an audience will want to see?

Today, I drew my hand, because it is right in front of me, and it’s always a good exercise to draw hands. They are very complex and difficult to capture, so it’s never a waste of effort to practice drawing hands. One of my figure drawing college professors called my drawings the spaghetti drawings (it wasn’t in any way, shape or form intended as a compliment). It’s funny that after all these years, I think my gestural drawings are still spaghetti drawings.

I’m under the pressure of a nearly impossible deadline to finish an illustration for a client. I didn’t have a lot of time to make a post, but I am committed to posting something every day, and I’m not willing to give up on that idea. I wonder where this daily ritual will take me next.

